URBAN TRANSPORTATION ADVISORY BOARD

Minutes: December 6, 2022

The Urban Transportation Advisory Board convened on Tuesday, December 6, 2022, at 1:30 p.m. in Conference Room 440, Citizens Square, Fort Wayne, Indiana.

The following were present:

Members (voting):

Member Shan Gunawardena-Chair

Member William Hartman-Vice Chair

Member Mike Thornson for Therese Brown

Member Scott Hinderman

Member Jason Kaiser

Member Nathan Frye for Steve McMichael

Member Paul Spoelhof

Member Judi Wire

Member Patrick Zaharako

The following were not present:

Member Adam Day

Member Paul Lagemann

Member John Metzinger

Member Stephanie Belch (non-voting)

Member Kari Carmany George (non-voting)

Member Erica Tait (non-voting)

Staff members present were Dan Avery, Executive Director; Jeff Bradtmiller, Senior Transportation Planner; and Debbie Magsam, Administrative Assistant. Matt Brown, Chad Salzbrenner, and Eli Samaan were also present.

Mr. Gunawardena brought the meeting to order. The first item of business was the approval of the November 1, 2022, minutes. Mr. Hartman moved that the minutes be approved. Mr. Kaiser seconded the motion and it carried.

Mr. Hartman reported for Allen County Highway. Preliminary Engineering (PE) and Right of Way (RW) are complete for the Bass Road Phase 3B & 3C project and the letting date is December 7, 2022. RW is 10% complete for the Bluffton Road Bridge #257 project. PE is 65% complete for the Fogwell Parkway project and some temporary RW acquisition is anticipated. PE is 65% complete for the Antwerp Road Bridge #15 project and the RW services contract has been submitted for the Commissioners' approval. PE is 65% complete for the Slusher Road Bridge #141 project. The roundabout may need to be shifted away from the wetlands and residential property for the Monroeville Road-Wayne Trace project. The INDOT-LPA contract was executed for the Woodburn Road Bridge #51 project, Cuba Road Bridge #24 project, Hamilton Road Bridge #242 project, and the Van Zile Road Bridge #32 project. They are waiting for the NTP (notice to proceed) authorization for the four bridge projects. The Bass Road Phase 1B project had one change order for approximately \$10,000.

Mr. Frye gave report for the City of New Haven. The NOT (Notice of Termination) is being preparing for the Landin Road Phase I project. The Landin Road Phase II project is delayed because of permit and scheduling issues regarding scour protection. The City of New Haven is speaking with consultants regarding the Maplecrest Road south of IN-930 project.

Mr. Hinderman gave the progress report for the airport. The terminal project is ongoing, and the entrance road is reopened. It is anticipated that the West Phase of the project will be completed in June 2023. Bids for the East Phase will be opened in February 2023 and construction is expected to start in May 2023.

Mr. Zaharako gave the progress report for the City of Fort Wayne. The Hillegas Road project had the preliminary field check. The Bluffton Road and Goeglein Road bridge projects are proceeding. The St. Joe Center Road project and the Maplecrest Road project are complete. An RFP (Request for Proposals) is out for the North Clinton Street project. This project will be a joint project with Allen County Highway. An RFP for the Tillman Road Bridge Replacement project will be out later this month.

Mr. Kaiser gave the progress report for INDOT. The contract for the Bridge Replacement SR 1 over Conrad Ditch project was awarded to Miller Bros Construction, Inc. on November 23, 2022.

There was no progress report for Citilink.

The first item of new business was the 2040 Transportation Plan-Revised Planning Assumptions and Air Quality Conformity Determination presented by Mr. Avery. The 2040 revised planning assumptions were reviewed at the November 2022 UTAB meeting. The Air Quality Conformity plan is valid for four years after the plan is approved and the 2040 Transportation Plan is updated every five years. The revised planning assumptions and transportation conformity documents were posted November 8 through November 28, 2022, for public comment. No public comments were received. Mr. Zaharako moved to adopt the revised planning assumptions for the 2040 Transportation Plan. Ms. Wire seconded the motion and it carried. Mr. Zaharako moved that based on the revised planning assumptions the 2040 Transportation Plan and 2022-2026 Transportation Improvement Plan meet the air quality standards, rules, and regulations. Mr. Thornson seconded the motion and it carried.

The next item of new business was the Review of 2040 Transportation Plan Roadway Improvements – Transition to 2045 Plan presented by Mr. Avery. Mr. Avery distributed a list of the 2040 Transportation Plan projects. The list of the approved projects in the 2040 Transportation Plan included completed projects, remaining projects, new projects, and additional projects for illustrative purposes. The Transportation Technical Committee (TTC) met this morning and reviewed the list to see if any of the remaining projects should be removed or modified. Mr. Avery will meet with the City of Fort Wayne, City of New Haven, and Allen County about the TTC recommendations. A modified list will be brought to the Board at a later date for approval.

The next item of new business was the Transit Planning Committee Membership Revision presented by Mr. Avery. The current Transit Planning Committee (TPC) voting membership includes representatives from Allen County (1), City of Fort Wayne (1), City of New Haven (1),

non-profit/paratransit provider (1), Community Transportation Network (1), Citilink (1), Citilink Labor (1), private sector transportation (2), consumer advocacy (2) and a non-voting representative from INDOT. It has been difficult to get private sector representatives. A change in reimbursement from Medicaid resulted in a number of these companies going out of business. The proposed voting membership is as follows: Allen County (1), City of Fort Wayne (1), City of New Haven (1), Community Transportation Network (1), Citilink (1), Citilink Labor (1), consumer advocacy (5) and a non-voting representative from INDOT. Ms. Wire moved that the Transit Planning Committee membership criteria be revised. Mr. Thornson seconded the motion and it carried.

The final item of new business was the TIP Amendments. There were two Citilink amendments and one CTN amendment. Mr. Hartman moved to approve the TIP amendments. Mr. Spoelhof seconded the motion and it carried.

At this point, Mr. Gunawardena asked for public comment. Mr. Samaan asked how US 30 and US 31 projects became combined. Mr. Kaiser stated the two roads intersect and what is done to one will have effect on the other. There are four independent Planning and Environment Linkages studies (PEL) two studies will focus on US 30 and two will focus on US 31. These studies will give the vision for each corridor and funding will be based on the results of the PEL studies.

There being no further business, Mr. Gunawardena adjourned the meeting.

Daniel S. Avery

Executive Director - Northeastern Indiana Regional Coordinating Council